Altitude Adjustment

High altitude

45to60

Morning, 7:30 am. The day begins slowly, high-altitude heavy mist filtering the sunlight. The mist pulls back now and then to reveal the fantastical rugged peaks of the Organ Mountains, so-named, I guess, because they look like a giant pipe organ from a distance.

I “camped” for my second night here at Aguirre Springs in the Organ Mountains-Desert Peaks National Monument in southern New Mexico last night. I have no tent, no stove fuel, no firewood – just a borrowed Toyota Land Cruiser and a cooler full of food. I fled Las Cruces on Thursday, desperate to get out of the city, and left the last few outfitting errands on my list un-done. My goal all along (and the one and only goal on this 6-week long trip) was to be out someplace quiet and wild for the full moon on January 12. I managed to accomplish that, and so…

View original post 841 more words

Leave a Reply

